Log in

October Tuesday Topics - Larken Egleston; Charlotte City Council, District 1

  • 20 Oct 2020
  • 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM


TUESDAY TOPICS OCTOBER: Larken Egleston - Charlotte City Councilman

Larken Egleston, a Democrat, was elected in 2017 as the District 1 representative and is serving his second term on the Charlotte City Council.

Egleston represents Republic National Distributing Company as a brand ambassador for Western North Carolina. He has also written for local publications including the Charlotte Observer, Elevate Magazine and Creative Loafing.

Egleston serves on the North Carolina advisory committee for the U.S. Global Leadership Coalition, serves as an advisory board member for Central Piedmont Community College's Culinary Arts program, and is the City of Charlotte's representative on the Centralina Regional Board as well as the NC League of Municipalities. He previously served as a volunteer firefighter for the Long Creek Volunteer Fire Department, a member of the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation Carolinas Chapter Board of Directors, and has served the local and state Democratic Party as President of the Mecklenburg County Young Democrats, a member of the State Executive Committee, and a local precinct chair. Egleston was also chair of City Council's Charlotte International Cabinet and vice chair of the Charlotte/Mecklenburg Historic Landmarks Commission. Egleston served as a delegate to the 2016 and 2020 Democratic National Conventions and has been named one of Charlotte's Top 30 Under 30 (2010) by Elevate Lifestyle and Top 40 Under 40 (2020) by the Charlotte Business Journal.

Egleston received an associate degree from Johnson & Wales University and a bachelor's degree from Appalachian State University.

Please join your friends from the Business Leaders of Charlotte on the third Tuesday of every month minus December and a short summer hiatus. You will enjoy local leaders of the Charlotte community and have the opportunity to ask direct questions. Past speakers have included Peter Gorman, Anthony Foxx, Jennifer Roberts, Chief Monroe, Chief Putney, Sue Myrick, Danny Morrison, and Sheriff Carmichael. 



MEETING ID: 812 0856 6508
PASSCODE:  694881


Joe Keener, President  |  joe@pruittkeener.com 

Abby Mathiason, Membership Committee Co-Chair  |  abby.mathiason@gmail.com

Lauren Borchert, BLOC Administrator  |  admin@businessleadersofcharlotte.com 


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software